What are the North Carolina Requirements for Car Insurance (2015)?
North Carolina law requires every driver to have liability, uninsured motorist, and in some cases, underinsured motorist insurance. North Carolina law states specific minimum limits for each coverage.
Minimum liability limits: 30,000/60,000/25,000
These limits are known as split limits within the insurance industry. The first number (limit) is the maximum amount of coverage for bodily injury to any one individual which is $30,000. The second number (limit) is the maximum amount of bodily injury coverage for all persons that are injured in an accident which is $60,000. The last number is the maximum amount of coverage for property damage from an accident. Remember, these are the minimum limits required by the state, we recommend that you purchase limits that fit your specific need in order to protect your individual assets. Acquiring higher limits does not mean your premium will increase drastically. The cost to purchase the higher limits might be minimal.
Uninsured motorist is also required with minimum limits of 30,000/60,000/25,000. Underinsured motorist coverage is required in some cases if the uninsured motorists limits are above the 30/60 minimum limits.
If you have other questions regarding car/auto insurance coverage requirements in North Carolina or Virginia, please give our office a call at 336 627 7037.